X

Buy Products not in the Philippines

Galleon.PH - Discover, Share, Buy!
Category:
Memoirs
Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of
Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of
Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of

Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality

Product ID : 14726503


Galleon Product ID 14726503
UPC / ISBN 030794834X
Shipping Weight 0.53 lbs
I think this is wrong?
Binding: Paperback
(see available options)
Model
Manufacturer Anchor Books
Shipping Dimension 7.87 x 5.04 x 0.87 inches
I think this is wrong?
Author Jacob Tomsky
Brand Anchor Books
Number Of Pages 320
Package Quantity 1
Publication Date 2013-07-30
Release Date 2013-07-30
-
Save 40%
Before ₱ 1,271
762

*Used item/s available.
*Price and Stocks may change without prior notice
  • 3 Day Return Policy
  • All products are genuine and original
  • Cash On Delivery/Cash Upon Pickup Available

Pay with

Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Features

  • Anchor Books


About Heads In Beds: A Reckless Memoir Of

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.Jacob Tomsky never intended to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a singular lack of career direction, he became a valet parker for a large luxury hotel in New Orleans. Yet, rising fast through the ranks, he ended up working in “hospitality” for more than a decade, doing everything from supervising the housekeeping department to manning the front desk at an upscale Manhattan hotel. He’s checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room-service meals, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late checkout, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. In Heads in Beds he pulls back the curtain to expose the crazy and compelling reality of a multi-billion-dollar industry we think we know. Heads in Beds is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life, told by a keenly observant insider who’s seen it all. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on in the valet parking garage, the housekeeping department’s dirty little secrets—not to mention the shameless activities of the guests, who are rarely on their best behavior. Prepare to be moved, too, by his candor about what it’s like to toil in a highly demanding service industry at the luxury level, where people expect to get what they pay for (and often a whole lot more). Employees are poorly paid and frequently abused by coworkers and guests alike, and maintaining a semblance of sanity is a daily challenge.Along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets of the industry, offering easy ways to ge